# MINUTES AMERICANISM COMMISSION MEETING OF

OCTOBER 7, 2023, at 12:00 P.M. Department Headquarters- VIRTUAL

- Call to Order 12:00 P.M.
   Chairman Rowe opened the meeting of the Department Americanism Commission at 12:00 P.M.
- Salute to the Colors
  The Colors were saluted.
- 3. Invocation by Melissa Fowle, 3<sup>rd</sup> District Chairwoman.
- Pledge of Allegiance
   Chairman Rowe led those present in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.
- 5. Roll Call: Christie White, Americanism and Children & Youth Coordinator

# **Members present:**

Harold Landis, 1st District Chairman- PRESENT- IN PERSON
Thomas Tierney, 2nd District Chairman- NOT PRESENT
Melissa Fowle, 3rd District Chairwoman- PRESENT- VIRTUAL
Henry Knight Jr, 4th District Chairman- NOT PRESENT
Cheryl MacDonald, 5th District Chairwoman- NOT PRESENT
John Loudermilk, 6th District Chairman- PRESENT- VIRTUAL
7th District Chairman- VACANT
Don Capps, 8th District Chairman- PRESENT- IN PERSON
William Dittebrand, 9th District Chairman- PRESENT- VIRTUAL
Richard Houp, 10th District Chairman- PRESENT- VIRTUAL
Thom Stan, 11th District Chairman- PRESENT- VIRTUAL
Tom Rowe, Americanism Commission Chairman- PRESENT- VIRTUAL
Kevin Conlan, 13th District Chairman- NOT PRESENT
John Life, 14th District Chairman- PRESENT- VIRTUAL

## **Guests Present:**

Christie White, Americanism and Children & Youth Coordinator

6. Reading of Previous Minutes

Thom Stan, 11<sup>th</sup> District Chairman moved, seconded by William Dittebrand, 9<sup>th</sup> District Chairman to approve the minutes of the last meeting.

**MOTION PASSED** 

- 7. Educator of the Year
  - a. Mike Hageman- D6
  - b. Eric Higgs- D9
  - c. Stuart Grunder- D10

Thom Stan, the 11<sup>th</sup> District Chairman motioned, seconded by John Life, 14<sup>th</sup> District Chairman, to disqualify Stuart Gunder from the 10th district since he did not have all the letters that he needed.

#### **MOTION PASSED**

Discussion was also had that the 9th District Chairman did not sign the paperwork.

Thom Stan, 11<sup>th</sup> District Chairman motioned, seconded by Richard Houp, 10<sup>th</sup> District Chairman that the rules can be interpreted differently, so all applicants should be considered.

## **MOTION PASSED**

Discussion was had about changing the rules and verbiage of the Educator of the Year packet for next year.

Harold Landis, 1<sup>st</sup> District Chairman- Mike Hageman D6
Melissa Fowle, 3<sup>rd</sup> District Chairwoman- Stuart Grunder D10
John Loudermilk, 6<sup>th</sup> District Chairman- Mike Hageman D6
Don Capps, 8<sup>th</sup> District Chairman- Eric Higgs D9
William Dittebrand, 9<sup>th</sup> District Chairman- Eric Higgs D9
Richard Houp, 10<sup>th</sup> District Chairman- Stuart Grunder D10
Thom Stan, 11<sup>th</sup> District Chairman- Mike Hageman D6
Tom Rowe, Americanism Commission Chairman- Stuart Grunder D10
John Life, 14<sup>th</sup> District Chairman- Stuart Grunder D10

D6-3 D9- 2 D10- 4

Thom Stan, 11<sup>th</sup> District Chairman motioned, seconded by Melissa Fowle, 3<sup>rd</sup> District Chairwoman seconds to accept Stuart Grunder form the 10<sup>th</sup> District as the 2023-2024 Educator of the Year.

# **MOTION PASSED**

- 8. Unfinished Business- None
- 9. New Business- Discussion was had about editing the Educator of the Year packet. The commission agreed to edit that at the spring meeting in person.
- 10. Good of the Legion- selections for the A&G test judging. Since it is an even year, the even districts are selected.

Judges- District 6, District 14, District 12, District 8. Alternates- District 2, District 10, District 4.

Melissa Fowle, 3<sup>rd</sup> District Chairwoman motions, seconded by John Life, 14<sup>th</sup> District Chairman to approve District 6, District 14, District 8 and A&G Judges at Mid-Winter and District 2, District 10, District 4 as alternate judges.

The Red, White and Blue award was discussed, and the Commission was emailed all the forms.

- 11. Benediction. Benediction was given by Melissa Fowle, 3<sup>rd</sup> District Chairwoman
- 12. Adjourned. Meeting adjourned at 12:41 P.M.