Service Officer Locations

Accredited American Legion service officers are specially trained to provide expert assistance, free of charge, to veterans and their families. While the majority of a service officer’s work involves application for VA disability benefits, these compassionate professionals also provide information, referrals and resources on education, employment and business, death benefits and other important topics.

» Download PSO Training Manual (Revised)

The American Legion
Department of Ohio
Department Headquarters
60 Big Run Road
Delaware, OH 43015
O: 740-362-7478
F: 740-362-1429
E: legion@ohiolegion.com

Cleveland VARO Department Service Officers

The American Legion
1240 East 9th St., Rm. 923 P.O. Box 99430
Cleveland, OH 44199
O: 216-522-3530
F: 216-357-5668

» Bill Genochio | USMC (Retired) DSO, Field Office Supervisor, ALR Liaison, VA&R – VBA – PSO

Phone: 216-522-3530 ext. 53746 | Email: William.Genochio@va.gov | genochio@ohiolegion.com

» Will Brown | US ARMY, DSO

Phone: 216-522-3530 ext. 53745 | Email: will.brown@va.gov | brown@ohiolegion.com

» Michelle Jones | Mother of US ARMY Act. Duty, DSO

Phone: 216-522-3530 ext. 53747 | Email: jones@ohiolegion.com | Michelle.Jones6@va.gov

» Thomas White | USMC, DSO

Phone: 216-522-3530 ext. 53743 | Email: twhite@ohiolegion.com

» Nicole Reese | DSO

Phone: 216-522-3530 ext. TBD | Email: TBD

Cincinnati VAMC Department Service Officer

The American Legion C/O VAMC
3200 Vine St, Room B148a
Cincinnati, OH 45220

» Beth Schroeder | US Army, DSO

Phone: 513-475-6440 W / 513-475-6557 F | Email: bgarino@ohiolegion.com | beth.schroeder@va.gov

Dayton VAMC/WPAFB Department Service Officer

The American Legion C/O VA
Patient Tower, Room 1D-145e
4100 W Third St
PO Box 335
Dayton, OH 45428

» Gary Felver | US Navy, DSO

Phone: 937-268-6511 ext 2967 | Email: gfelver@ohiolegion.com

Columbus VAACC-Department Service Officer

The American Legion
Chalmers P. Wylie VA Ambulatory Care Center
420 N James Rd, Room 1A045
Columbus, OH 43219

» Vacant | DSO

Phone: 614-257-5497 | Email: TBD

Various website resources to support vets:

SNAP Benefits
https://militarybenefits.info/snap-benefits/

VA Housing Grants for Disabled Veterans
https://www.benefits.com/veterans-disability/housing-for-disabled-veterans

Current VA Loan Rates Available Locally
https://www.mortgagecalculator.org/mortgage-rates/va.php

Top 60 Veteran & Military-Friendly Employers
https://info.recruitics.com/blog/top-veteran-military-friendly-employers-for-2020

College Resources for Veterans and Their Families
https://www.accreditedschoolsonline.org/resources/higher-education-for-military-veterans/

Top 10 Work from Home Jobs for Military Spouses & Veterans with Disability
https://www.transcriptioncertificationinstitute.org/blog/work-from-home-jobs-for-disabled-veterans

Five Ways to Cope with PTSD
https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/319824

Trusted Military and Veteran Service Organizations
https://www.veteransadvantage.com/giving-back/trusted-military-organizations-and-nonprofits

Highly-Rated Nonprofits Dedicated to Veterans and Military Service Members
https://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=content.view&cpid=531

Article about the unique challenges presented to veterans who return to school (here: https://www1.cuny.edu/mu/forum/2020/11/10/kcc-vetsday2020/).

-Links provided by Adam Evans, adam@citebrain.com